FarhatHashmi.com Launched

bannr07.jpg

Al Huda International’s brand new website www.farhathashmi.com was launched last week. It will run parallel to the old website www.alhudapk.com

Most people are not familiar with the name of Al Huda, however Farhat Hashmi has become a house hold name in Pakistan as well as internationally.

On this website you will find her Explanation of the Quran and explanation of Shahih Bukhari, hadiths as well lectures on many different topics. Explanation of the Quran in English by Amina Elahi is also available online. Some lectures and tafsir by her husband Dr. Idress Zubair is also avaiable as well as his Qirat.

Loads and loads of other treasures are also available to correct your aqaid and strengthen your emaan.

Here i would like to take an opportunity to clarify some misconceptions about Dr. Farhat Hashmi. When i mentioned her in my previos post here, i received some nasty comments about her.

“She is dangerous because of her extremist views. she wants to make muslims barbaric and backwards by liiterally calling for muslims to be like they were in the 7th century literally.she also support beating women, ENFORCEMENT of body hijab, not just the head covering.”

Firstly, Im sure that the person who wrote this comment, being a Male has never ever ventured inside an Al Huda Campus. So how in the world can he make such blatant statements about her!?? This is nothing but slander!

The first time i went to an Al Huda Campus was around 4 to 5 years back. In fact my mother zabardasti took me there coz she had to buy some books from there – i had no intention of going there and listening to a dars but had no other choice. At that time i didnt even wear a duppata on my head – let alone a hijab or a jilbab or any other head covering! No one stopped me from entering, not a single person told me to cover my head or wear a hijab or any such thing! If you are a student, you have to wear a scarf coz thats a UNIFORM of the institute! other people who visit were wearing what ever they wanted! There was NO enforcement of full body hijab. I even listened to Dr. Farhat Hashmi delivering a lecture a number of times and there was nothing extreme about what she was teaching.

Now if you don’t think a 4-5 year old story is applicable.. then i can tell you the current situation as well. I go 2 – 3 days every week to an Al Huda Campus. I wear the head covering ( Scarf) and i dont wear an abaya yet. i.e. “a full body hijab”. No one has ever forced me to wear a scarf or an abaya and no one says anything… so the allegation that she enforces hijab is totally wrong. The decision to wear the hijab (scarf) was totally mine and not due to Farhat hashmi or any other person.

She doesnt enforce hijab.. Allah Subhana Watala has! And when women read whats written in the Quran, they wear the hijab and jilbab happily and willingly. No body can ever force a women to make such drastic changes – the change comes from within after reading Allah’s words!

Another allegation about Dr. Farhat is that she is banned in Canada. For everybody information.. she is currently in Canada doing a Quran course and Alhamdulilah a building has also been purchased for a new Al Huda Campus there.

May Allah reward her for enlightening so many people’s lives with the teachings of Quran and Sunnah

26 thoughts on “FarhatHashmi.com Launched

  1. Salamalikum,

    Since you know more about her, is she permanently staying in Canada or just visits there? It’s sad that for some reason she decided to move there (as far as I know). Both her and her husband need to be in Pakistan although I’ve seen al-Huda centers popping up all over Karachi so it’s growing but I still think she should be in Pakistan instead of in Canada.

    Those who accuse Shaykha Farhat are complete illiterate, and I’m talking about both the non-religious people and religious ones who don’t agree with her.

    Your mother did a great thing taking you there, may Allah reward her with good.

  2. Wsalam,

    Her purpose of staying is Canada is to do dawah and teach the women there.

    Alhamdulillah Taleem Al-Quran 2005 was completed there a few months ago. Advance course is currently under way.

    She basically went there on the invitation of Islamic Society of Canada.. and due to the great success.. she was asked to conduct more classes and now Alhamdulilah a proper Al Huda Institute has been established in Mississauga, Ontario.

    I cant exactly say when she will return.. or if she will return….but what i have observed is that she moves along with her family to various cities to conduct Quran classes and establish branches there.

    She moved from Lahore to Karachi to conduct Taleem Al Islam 2002 and established Al Huda branches here in Karachi.. she also went to Dubai to conduct classes there…and she is now in Canada. Don’t know what her next stop might be….

    From her classes the best of her students then start their own Quran study circles and courses… Huma Najmul Hasan, Dr. Imrana ( of the Tv fame) and Safia Khan are amongst the most well known of her students here in Karachi.

    I also hope she returns here to Pak very soon. Inshallah

    May Allah reward her for all her efforts. Ameen.

  3. Amazing Javeria:

    Kahan dupatta pahna ko tayar nai aur kahan Hijab.

    No doubt, Hidyat Allah ke hee haath mey hay. Wo chahye tu Firown k darbari ko Hidayat deday aur Usey Itni izzat day ke eik puri Surah , Surah MOMIN dedicate karday aur hidyat na miley tu Noah(AS) ka beyta paani me doob jaye.

    I know nothing about Farhat Hashmi. I hope I would learn from you. LIke others I also heard lots of controversy about her. Most you mentioned yourself.

    Does she belong JI? I actually don’t follow the teaching of Mudoudi so just wondering about it.

  4. Regarding Moududi. Chhor yaar, ye waqt naheen in sab baaton ka. Bas main itna kahoonga keh woh GAD-HAY naheen thay, GHORAY hi thay magar BE-LAGAAM thay. We should appreciate his effort rather than criticizing his attitude, anybody read Tafheem Ul Quran would get it. Israr Ahmed bhi un ko criticize karte hain, jab mouqa hota he aur jahan banta he.

    Dar he keh discussion kisi aur rukh na chali jaaye. Behter hoga agar is baat ko khatam karein. Ye thora buhat chalta he, fundamentals par tou ek hi hain hum taqreeban. Achchhay aadmi thay Moududi Saheb.

    Aaj kal jo dushmanaan-e-deen hain in ka qalaquma karna hoga. Is par dehaan do. Yeh differences baad mein dekheinge jab waqt hoga.

  5. @ Adnan

    No she does not belong to any group, political part or any “sect”. Her teachings are from Quran and Sunnah.
    I think people are quick to judge “scholars” based on their narrow view of Islam which they think is the only right way.. so i think people should not be judgemental and first listen to the scholar and then form an opinion.

    I would like you to apply the same principle to Maulana Maudidi.. read his Tafhim ul Quran.. read his books. I dont find anything wrong with his teachings. I dont want to go into a debate over him.. but a humble suggestion to read up on his work.

    @ Adeel.
    I think we should be very careful when talking about scholars of Islam… any scholar and not use any derogatory term for them. Even if we don’t agree with them.. we should not ridicule or degrade them.

    I find your comparison of Maulana Modudid with gad-hays and ghorays rather offensive.

  6. Salamalikum,

    People, leave the scholars/learned people alone. If you have attained certain level of knowledge, then discuss these after reading the works of the concerned scholars in highly academic settings with other scholars/actual students of knowledge, not on blogs!! If you must highlight mistakes, then highlight the mistakes and don’t attack the personalities. Don’t say falaan scholar was so and so because he wrote such and such—just say falaan scholar wrote this, which other scholars said is incorrect because…., and once you have made your point—don’t get too deep into debate. Of course, this is a reminder to myself first.

    Yes, there are issues with what Moulana Moudoudi has written in his tafseer and other books, but for most people there is too much to gain from his writings, and Allah has brought many people back to Islam through his works (may Allah have mercy on him). His ‘Towards Understanding Islam’ has had a magical affect on people, and non-Muslims have reverted back to Islam after reading this book.

    Only Rasoolillah (saw) is ma’soom (innocent), and other humans do make mistakes. And, the mistakes made by Moudoudi were highlighted by scholars with the right spirit to guide people to the correct path, and nobody is a scholar here.

    But, I want to be balanced. If you read Tafheemul Quran and come upon something that sounds odd to you, then refer to a scholar that you trust. Don’t just accept it (and this advice is for those who are sincere, who don’t have nifaaq in their hearts, who are not looking for an easy way out!).

    I’m also not too pleased with the comparision made for Moulana Moudoudi, but I realize Adeel had the best of intentions, and his message was correct (may Allah reward Adeel with the best). What I’ve heard learned people say is that Moudoudi sahib had a ‘heavy pen’ when writing about personalities.

  7. @ Javeria – I was very careful but darn I failed again. I apologize if it was offensive to you. To the contrary, I suppose, I used the word Ghora in a good sense as Socrates used word “watch-dogs”, for his most upper class “The Guardians”. By the way, it depends how you take it. Assume, if somebody say me Ghora I would definitely take it with proud. Because it doesn’t literally mean Ghora, it merely mean the qualities of horse. And when it comes to take one Donkey or Horse. I would take Horse, for sure.

    Furthermore, it was not my words. It was the word of Mufti Aakif Mehmood – who is my friend – and he told me that it is said by one of his senior Mufti. After that I asked about Tafheem Ul Quran and Moududi to my Ustaad-e-Muhtaram, he said, “there is no doubt that he wrote a literary commentary, but he used few words which doesn’t really suit to any prophet or wives of Muhammad (saw). And I can’t stand those words, hence don’t used to recommend that to anybody”. Moreover, he agreed on the statement that Moududi kept his words in front and the words of past high level scholars behind.

    @ Ibrahim – Cent percent agreement. Very wise. Jaza Kallah. I apologize to you for that words I used for Moududi.

  8. Ibrahim and Javera,

    How could you assume that I wouldn’t have read him and just associate something with him just for personal difference? This is not the right attitude and very immature as well. I even didn’t reject Mirza Qadyani unless I read his work.

    Don’t think i am comparing Modudi with Mirza Qadyani but I have read Modudi’s work, not all but still much that I was able to reject whatever he tried to preach. Infact I would say that so many of his statements were blasphemous enough that I abhored to read him further.

    Since this is not the topic about Modudi so I wouldn’t comment further. Yes I recently got engaged with a Jamati online who is also a famous jang columnist, I am talking about jawed iqbal(not Iqbal’s son) and he become so defensive that he started personal attack on deobandis, Molana Ludyanvi(db) and others.

    Ibrahim, read Ikhtilaf-e-Ummat and Sirat-e-Mustaqeem, I read that which forced me to read further about modudi which lead me to reject many of his work which was very offensive towards Sahabs and Messengers

  9. to clarify further, Ibrahim, No , I am not trying to give my own verdict about Modudi and I read his work after readig Molana Yusuf Ludyani’s book in which he gave ref of Modudi’s controversial statements with book and page reference. What were thought of Mududi about status of Prophethood and about Ameer Mowaya is not a hidden secret at all. You said yourself that Allah is the forgiver but the core issue of Jamat Islami’s thought is that they don’t miss any chance to crticize Amir Mowaya(RA) just because His kids fought with children of Ali(RA).

    For muslims are Sahabas(RA) are equal and they are sure Jannati. Neither Modudi was given surity about Jannah nor any other scholar of modern times so why do we criticize those who are arleady beloved to God and criticizing them is just like doing Kufr? This is one of the main reason I don’t like teachings of Mududi or by JI.

  10. Salamalikum,

    Adnan….Allah is my witness, I wasn’t even thinking about you when I wrote what I wrote. Yes, most everyone here has acknowledged that mistakes were made by Mawlana Moudoudi. There is no way I’m defending his position when he uses ‘heavy pen’ when writing about some personalities (I think my position is clear in my above comment).

    I’m just saying don’t pass sweeping judgements. Saying that ‘THE CORE issue of Jamat Islami’s thought is that they don’t miss any chance to crticize Amir Mowaya(RA) just because His kids fought with children of Ali(RA).” is an injustice. Such statements are too general and don’t help much, especially here.

    I bought Mawlana Ludhanvi’s (shaheed, inshaAllah) book you mentioned six/seven years ago, and I will just say one thing: Don’t set you preferences based on just that one book. I will send you an email, inshaAllah, explaining more in a few days.

    Please truly forgive me if I’ve disrespected you, for that was not my intention.

  11. Ibrahim,

    I am not setting preference based on what Ludhyanvi or some XYZ said. Modudi’s statements have been given with reference of Book and page number rather interpetition. Some are very clear and there is nothing between the lines that I misinterpret what was being said.

    as far as Sahabas are concerned, no I didn’t make any general statement. I think I would have mails saved regarding my conversation with Jawed Iqbal and I would sure send them to you.

    Don’t worry Ibrahim, You didn’t respect me, I like and respect you a lot due to your knowledge. you re my brother a dear one, though I don’t know you are younger or older:D. I am around 30 so you could figure out yourself 🙂

    Waslam

  12. i mea you didn’t disrespect me:)

    I respect and like those who are friends of Islam that’s why I feel comfortable with people like you, javeria and few more but all I would say that Islam doesn’t give us freedom to perform celebrity worshiping. I am follower of Imam Hanifa(RA) and I love all other Imams(RA) as well but all Imams clearly ordered their follower to reject any of their writing which is against Quran and Sunnah rather following them JUST because it was said by Hanifa(RA) or Malik(RA). As you said yourself , only Rasools are free from error and sins ,no one else and it was admitted by grand Imams as well. Since they can do mistake and we are free not to follow them then are we not free to refuse anything in writing of any XYZ? if there was something which does conflict from basic of Islam then doesn’t Islam give me or any muslim freedom to reject him? The same issue is with Jawed Ghamidi. Just because he talks nice, it doesn’t mean I gotta follow him. Interesting thing is that both Ghamidi and Modudi had relation with Ahsan Eslahi who himself was not lesser “genius” the these two and eh rejected to accept that God could send Ababil to defeat Abraha who wished to attack on Makkah.

    Islam can’t be explained 100% with Logic because logic requires comprehension which is associated with Brain. How could someone trust on something which Man couldn’t utilize more than 7-8%? . Modudi, Ahsan Eslahi,Ghamidi and Sir Syed, they all tried to understand and explain Islam by logic and Allah reject comprehension of Deen by Logic when HE said that He has given reward for those who believed in “Unseen” Allah.

  13. @ Adnan

    do accept my apologies for assuming that you had not read up on modudid yourself. My mistake…

    However i would like you to mail me the references on my gmail account…. i would like to check them up too.

    the tafsir of Molana Modudi has been in my house even before i was born! So that was my first contact with explanation of the Quran.. and i was quite impressed. Obviously.. its in many volumes and i have not read it from page 1 to the last page of the last vol. But whatever i have read… i did not find it offensive towards any sahabi or any nabi. Obviously im no scholar and my knowledge is very little regarding these issues…so i would like the references so i could check them up.

  14. asalam o alikum
    i want to know abt islam . please tell me sme basic things abt islam .And i want to join your company please briefly explain how could i join u??????????

  15. @ Change Life

    Walaykumsalam,

    May Peace be on you,

    If you are asking about Al Huda International, then it is an educational institute imparting religious knowledge of Islam to the public to give them the true message of the Quran.They have various branches all over Pakistan and Internationally. Most of their Explanations of Quran and lectures on various topics are available online. Most of them are in urdu but they do have an English section as well. If you need to find out more about them then you will have to mail them at admin@farhathashmi.com and listen to their lectures here: http://www.farhathashmi.com

    As for me, i am no scholar of Islam. Im just a student trying to understand Quran and implement it in my life. So what i can say is that Thanks very much.. for taking interest in Islam and asking about it. What i can tell you is that the most amazing thing which distinguishes Islam from all other religions is the authenticity & purity of its scriptures and sources. Secondly it is a way of life, not just some rituals to be performed on certain days or occassions.

    The Quran is the WORD OF GOD and it was revealed to last messenger of God, Muhammad( May peace be upon him) in the Arabic language and it is still preserved word to word in its original Arabic language till today. There has not been a single change in even a single word of the Quran. The entire Quran is word of God and not the word of any prophet or any other person.

    The main source of guidance for Muslims is Quran. Read the Quran here.
    If you want to understand the message of the Quran, you can listen to the Brief Explanation of Quran in English here

    Is There Any Sacred Source Other than the Qur’an?
    Yes. The sunnah (what the Prophet Muhammad  said, did,or approved of) is the second source in Islam. The sunnah is comprised of hadeeths, which are reliably transmitted reports by the Prophet Muhammad’s  companions of what he said, did, or approved of. Belief in the sunnah is a basic Islamic belief.

    Some Brief Introduction to Islam

    ” What Is Islam?
    The religion of Islam is the acceptance of and obedience to the teachings of God which He revealed to His last prophet,Muhammad. Simply put, Submission to the will of God is Islam.

    Some Basic Islamic Beliefs
    1)Belief in God
    Muslims believe in one, unique, incomparable God, Who has no son nor partner, and that none has the right to be worshipped but Him alone. He is the true God, and every other deity is false.He has the most magnificent names and sublime perfect attributes.No one shares His divinity, nor His attributes. In the Qur’an, God describes Himself:
     Say: “He is God, the One. God, to Whom
    the creatures turn for their needs. He begets
    not, nor was He begotten, and there is none like Him.” 
    (Qur’an, 112:1-4)
    No one has the right to be invoked, supplicated,prayed to, or shown any actof worship, but God alone. This belief is called Tauheed in Arabic.

    2) Belief in the Angels:
    Muslims believe in the existence of the angels and that they are honored creatures. The angels worship God alone, obey Him, and act only by His command. Among the angels is Gabriel, who brought down the Qur’an to Muhammad .(pbuh)

    3) Belief in God’s Revealed Books:
    Muslims believe that God revealed books to His messengers as proof for mankind and as guidance for them. Among these books is the Qur’an, which God revealed to the Prophet Muhammad. God has guaranteed the Qur’an’s protection from any corruption or distortion. God has said:
     Indeed,We have sent down the Qur’an, and
    surely We will guard it (from corruption). 
    (Qur’an, 15:9)

    4) Belief in the Prophets and Messengers of God:
    Muslims believe in the prophets and messengers of God,starting with Adam, including Noah, Abraham, Ishmael, Isaac,Jacob, Moses, and Jesus (peace be upon them). But God’s final
    message to man, a reconfirmation of the eternal message, was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad . Muslims believe thatMuhammad  is the last prophet sent by God, as God has said:
     Muhammad is not the father of any one of
    your men, but he is the Messenger of God and
    the last of the prophets…  (Qur’an, 33:40)
    Muslims believe that all the prophets and messengers were created human beings who had none of the divine qualities of God.

    5) Belief in the Day of Judgment:
    Muslims believe in the Day of Judgment (the Day of Resurrection) when all people will be resurrected for God’s judgment according to their beliefs and deeds.

    6) Belief in Al-Qadar:
    Muslims believe in Al-Qadar, which is Divine Predestination,but this belief in Divine Predestination does not mean that human beings do not have freewill. Rather, Muslims believe that God has given human beings freewill. This means that they can choose
    right or wrong and that they are responsible for their choices.”

    Source: Brief Illustrated Guide to Islam. For more details about Islam, you can read this book online here:
    A Brief Illustrated Guide to Islam

    If you want to know more about Islam you can check out the following links:

    Biography of Prophet Muhammad The Sealed Nectar -by Safiur Rahman Mubarakpuri

    How to become a Muslim

    Answers to FAQs about Islam asked by Non Muslims – Zakir Naik

    Fundamentals of Tauhid (Oneness of God) – Bilal Phillips

    200 FAQs on Islamic Belief

    May Allah Guide us all to the Truth. Ameen.
    If you have any further queries or if you need any other help, don’t hesitate to ask.

    Wasalam,
    Javeria.

  16. if u want to go tojannah read and follow quran as much as u can drFarhat guides best i am witness to it searching to be come a shauri muslim after my haj since 92 i found her in 2003 alhamdolil lah every day iam learning more try yourself afshan

  17. I don’t mind to share my thoughts with all of you.I always respect other’s way of point but in this case I would like to say you cannot impose on someone to follow your school of thoughts.I’ve seen that who are following Al-Huda lessons,they are good to teach others but they dont act as a good mulim.my own sister get confuse she is dont know what she is doing her power of thinking is been seized.before she was quite normal mulim woman and now her behavior and attitude totally changed.I know what Aapa Nisar Fatime has done with her daughter in law ,why her massage was different for every girl and woman why she couldn’t do the same for her daughter in law.if you make some rule then rule should apply equally on teacher and student.thanks for taking your time

  18. Assalam Alaikum Sister,
    I urgently neeed some information reagrding a matter ofseperation between my parents from Dr. Frahat Hashmi. Please respond ASAP and this matter should be very confidential. Jazak Allah Khair.

  19. Assalamu aliakum sister javeria

    Thank you for this nice blog. Mashallah it is really informative and helping.

    You said that you are a student and trying to understand Holy Quran. Are you self studying or are you a student of Alhuda? And in which which cities are the Alhuda campus located?

  20. I am impressed from Respected Dr.Farhmat Hashmi’s audio lectures listening on radio Pakistan / FM. I pray for her health and extension in life (Ameen).

  21. May Allah bless all of those, who are working sincerely (with Ikhlas) to spread the true teachings of Quran.

    The kalma closely means, there is no god except to Allah and Muhammed S.A.W is the prophet sent by Allah.

    Why this Kalma is so important? What does it really mean? Why it is so important to recite this Kalma to become Muslim?

    The Kalma has two parts;
    1) Everything that has happened, happening and will happen in this world and whole universe, is by the will of Allah. Without the will of Allah nothing could be happen

    2) The guarantee of ultimate and long term success is in complete application of Sunnah and the real failure is for those who do not follow Sunnah

    Simple, right? I mean come’on man I already knew this; big fat mistake here my brothers and sisters in Islam!!

    We just got knowledge of this Kalma, our lives are empty from the application.

    Count those prayers in which our deep inside thoughts were in our life, family and business. See our belief, “if I do not go to office, I would not able to make my family living”

    The Kalma can only be implemented when we truly and honestly (to our ownself) follow the deen. And to learn Deen we can not learn it without going to places where the Deen is being taught practically.

    Remember the Changaiz Khan invasion of Muslim world? At that time Baghdad was full knowledge of deen but not with its application.

    If I read all the books being taught in Medical Schools, no one will call me a doctor, similarly I would never be able to operate some human body. Same way, if we do not go to environment where every next thing is based upon deen, we would never be able to understand the deen.

    I have recently had a journey in train from Karachi to Raiwind. The train, during journey, only stopped at Hyderabad and Rohri. It did not stopped at any place to have its passenger offer Salat. We cant blame Pakistan Railways, because in the whole train, there were only 1 or 2 percent people who were offering prayers. Imagine, if there were 70% to 80% people who prays regularly on time, the Pakistan Railways must have had stopovers for Salat. Try to understand the level of Iman in ourselves and think about changing (atleast) your own social circle with respect to Quran and Insha Allah everything will be streamline.

    best of luck!

    Ahmed

  22. The prayer obligations differ while traveling. You need to take lot of other responsibilities, if you decide on stopping the train for prayers. We should not drag this issue over here. We had better leave it to scholars (Ijma) to decide. They have better insight and knowledge regarding the issue, and its consequences.

    Wa-salaam.

  23. @Abdullah

    As’Salam O Alaikum,

    Your name is very great! The man of Allah! Subhan-Allah, this reminds me that I am also man of Allah!

    Brother in Islam, we can keep debating over the points in each other’s posts. This is my last comment, I just wanted to clear you and other readers.

    The intents of writing the comment was to (a) appreciate the work being done by Farhat Hashmi (b) Javeria’s shift of thoughts towards Islam (c) answer to one of newbies question here on comments list

    The train journey was just an example of the (level of ) application of Deen in the country which was made for the name of Kalma.

    May Allah give us courage to apply the deen, truly in our lives! and keep all of us away from the un-worthy comments/questions, Ameen.

  24. As Salamu alaykum wa rahmathullah,

    Firstly I ask forgiveness if this post/comment offends you/concept of ur website. I am a muslimah who has been

    accepted to IlmSummit 2009 and in desperate need of financial aid. Pl help me either by supporting financially

    /spreading the word insha Allah. Pls visit– http://help2ilmsummit.wordpress.com/ for sadaqa -e jariya insha ALlah. I

    pray that Allah make it easy and beneficial for all the Ummah bi’idhnillah. Jazakumullah Khayr.

    wa Salam,
    Sister in Islam

Leave a Reply

