I thought I couldn’t live without ‘music’…

There was a time when I wouldn’t leave the house without my discman. My harddisk was filled with Mbs of music files…you name the song and i had it. My room was filled with cassettes and cds. MTV was one of my favourite channels and I even had my favourite videos recorded!

Then I heard a cassette  ‘From The Shadows’ by Halaqah media (Available here) and i got scared..really really scared. Amongst other issues, this documentary discussed how satanic subliminal messages were found in many pop songs and and the singers were actually worshipping and calling out to satan through their music. It gave examples of songs from Madonna and Eagles.

In Madonna’s song “Like a Prayer” it is not God that the prayer is directed at, but Satan. When played backwards, the words “0h hear us, Satan,” are clearly audible, one of my favourite songs by Eagles Hotel California also was an ode to satan  and when played backwords you can hear a spooky voice  say ‘yaaay satan’ and if you know about the rituals of ‘Free Masons’ you will realize that its a song about  visiting a Free Masonic lodge.To be honest the song always sounded spooky to me!

I did a lot of research on the internet and found that satanic messages in songs were very common and these messages do actually have an impact on your subconciousness.For days I couldn’t sleep. The satanic voices kept going round and round in my head. then I stopped listening to music completely.

This went on for some time, I dont remember exactly how long….there was a void and then i started swaying towards music again. satan made me think up of a lot of justificationa and excuses like… oh i only listen to nice people they dont have such things in their songs.. oh its only heavy metal that has satanic messages, i listen to pop and ballads.. i dont listen to madonna  and micheal jackson.. etc etc…. I couldn’t live without music… i said…and music was back in my life with a bang! My collection restarted and soon i had all my favourite  songs loaded on my harddisk.. music was playing all the time on my pc even while i was studying and sometimes even sleeping…When i went to Uk for studies, my laptop had my entire music collection. My Australian flatmate was quite surprised to see my music collection! It had  her favourite songs too!

Then i came back after completing my studies in 2006 and ramadan was about to start. During ramadan my mother dragged me to listen to the explanation of the Quran. Quran entered my life and i started studying it regularly by joining a course.

I started realizing why Music was haram. It took me away from the remembrance of Allah , it took me away from the Quran. If i listened to Music, even during my Salah (prayer) the song would be going on in my head. I would be physically praying but my heart and mind were not! early in the morning the first thing on my lips would be songs… not Allah’s name.I started seeing the shirk in songs and the open delcarations of disobedience to Allah   in all the romantic songs, ballads and love songs .

‘Everything I do, i do it for you’  (Bryan Adams) – Everything for WHO?  

‘Il do anything for you…anything you want me too.’-(BSB) I’ll do ANYTHING?

“Say (O Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم): “Verily, my Salat (prayer), my sacrifice, my living, and my dying are forAllah, the Lord of the ‘Alamin”

(Quran 6:162)

My Everything is supposed to be for Allah..not any human being! What am i saying.. what am i singing..open obscenity and declarations of love…If i dont mean them then why should i say these words and sing them or listen to them! every word I utter is being recorded by the angles …what explanation will i give for these songs!

I started avoiding music …

Then discussions started ,is music haram or halal? People would say…. Music is not haram. Its not in Quran… we pray we remeber Allah but we listen to songs as well and we can  concentrate in our prayers… etc etc…Music does not interfere in our worship… we only listen when we are busy in work.. etc etc… there is no harm in listening to nice music… etc etc…

I came across a hadith in Sahih Al Bukhari in which our Prophet Muhammad (s) said : “From among my followers there will be some people who will consider illegal sexual intercourse, the wearing of silk, the drinking of alcoholic drinks and the use of musical instruments, as lawful.(Sahih Al Bukhari)

This was the final blow!

So people who are justifying listening to music are the ones this hadith is talking about. From this saying of Prophet Muhammad (s) it is clear that Music is haram. Anybody who disagrees and brings in ifs and buts.. is fulfulling this prophecy of Prophet Muhammad (s) that his followers will one day make musical instruments halal for themselves!Just to make things clear – only one instrument -The Daff is allowed in Islam.

I stopped listening to Music. but for how long….?They say Music is the food for the soul.I realized my soul still needed some ‘music’ . I could’nt live without ‘music’…and i was right..but i was feeding my soul with the wrong kind of music.My soul wanted the ‘divine music’.The divine music of the Qur’an

I started listening to various different recitors and some surahs recited by some qaris was the most beautiful thing i had ever heard. It was far beyond what i had ever heard. The beauty of the words, the peace it gives and the divine rythm of Allah’s words was truly amazing and it is indescribeable.

I realized that the first time i stopped listening to music, there was a void so i went back on the path of shaytan.But the second time around the craving of my soul for music was satisfied in the halal way with halal divine music of the Quran. As one has rightly said,Moseqe khabees rooh ki ghiza hai – Music is the food of the wretched soul.The real tayyab food of the good soul is the Qur’an.

 

Before I  used to make a list of my top ten favourite songs..but now i want to share with you all a list of my top ten favourite surahs by my favourite qaris. Please do listen to the beautiful recitations!! I have listed them 1-10 but to be honest all of them are just great, beautiful and amazing…

1. Surah Al-Insaan by Mishary Rashid Al Afasi-mp3

2. Surah Al-Bayyinah by Mishary Rashid Al Afasi-mp3

3. Surah Al Kahaf by Mishary Rashid Al Afasi-mp3

4. Surah Yasin by a young child Hasan Bin Abdullah(link to youtube video)

5. Ayatul Kursi by Saad Al Ghamdi ( link to youtube video)

6. Surah Mominoon by Abu Bakr Shatri (link to youtube video)

7. Al-Anam by Saad Al Ghamdi-mp3: This is a long surah.Listen to its first part which is beautifully recited.

8. Hud by Saad Al Ghamdi-mp3

9. Maryam by Saad Al Ghamdi-mp3

10. Al Haqqah by Hani Rafai-mp3

I usually don’t blog about my personal life, but now i think i should.. maybe somebody will learn something from my life and change their life for good and make Allah happy. I don’t  mean to show off with this post, may Allah purify my intentions ..I realized that Music is such an emotional subject.. people just get into arguments and long debates because they just find it impossible to leave music, just like i did. I thought it was impossible…. but it is.

So all those of  you who think and say that you can’t live without music. Think again. There is halal music and there is haram music. All you have to do is change  your taste. Don’t satisfy your soul with haram when the most beautiful halal music is available….Listen to the Quran, listen to halal nasheeds with beautiful lyrics and no musical instruments.. change your taste,, there is a lot of good halal music out there and the best of it is the Qur’an!!

Some great websites to listen to Quran

Quran Recitation at FarhatHashmi.com

Allah’s Quran

29 thoughts on “I thought I couldn’t live without ‘music’…

  1. Thanks a lot for posting this. I have been through exactly the same mental struggle to finally be convinced that music is haram in Islam and anyone wanting to practice deen has got to avoid it.

    Hotel California also used to be my favourite song. And strangely, Mishary Rashed Alafasy is now my favourite qari (I even happened to have a talk with him on telephone).

    Yes, you must write about such personal experiences related to shifting one level up from being just a Muslim to a practicing Muslim. It would encourage a lot of us…inshallah

    • please help me o my dear brother. like you,i also want to be more than just a practising muslim. insha allah, you will be rewarded in this world and in the Hereafter. Help me please brother. you have my e-mail ad.

  2. The above mentioned Hadees is about musical instruments. What if I sing a song or listen to a song without musical instruments, or with drum or duff only, can you clear its position in Islam? And what is the rationale behind allowing duff and not any other instrument? Is there any Islamic scripture paricularly allowing the use of duff?

    • Muslim :: Book 4 : Hadith 1940
      ‘A’isha reported that Abu Bakr came to her and there were with her two girls on Adha days who were singing and beating the tambourine and the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) had wrapped himself with his mantle. Abu Bakr scolded them. The Messenger of Allah (may peace he upon him) uncovered (his face) and said: Abu Bakr, leave them alone for these are the days of ‘Id.

      Bukhari :: Book 7 :: Volume 62 :: Hadith 77
      Narrated Ar-Rabi’:
      (the daughter of Muawwidh bin Afra) After the consummation of my marriage, the Prophet came and sat on my bed as far from me as you are sitting now, and our little girls started beating the tambourines and reciting elegiac verses mourning my father who had been killed in the battle of Badr. One of them said, “Among us is a Prophet who knows what will happen tomorrow.” On that the Prophet said, “Leave this (saying) and keep on saying the verses which you had been saying before.”

      It is recommended to sing and beat the daff to celebrate a wedding

      Abu Balj Yahya Bin Saleem reported that he said to Muhammad Bin Haatib (RTA): “I married two wives and in neither of the two marriages was there the sound of a duff.” Muhammad then told him that Allah’s Messenger (SAW) said: “What distinguishes between the lawful (i.e. Nikah (Islamic marriage contract)) and the unlawful (i.e. adultery) is beating the daff and the sound (of singing) at a wedding.”(An Nasai, At-Tirmidhi)

      So it can be concluded that:
      1. Only the Tambourine/ daff is allowed.
      2. Songs should be based on truth – no lies or exaggeration in songs. No singing about woman’s beauty, romance or vulgar things.
      3. Singing is recommended on weddings and also on two Eids.

      So one can sing or listen to nahseeds (Islamic Songs) which have meaningful lyrics based on truth and are not vulgar or obsecene and which does not keep one away from the zikr of Allah and which only have daff or natural sounds as music. Nasheeds by Zain Bikha are good.
      And Allah Knows Best.

  3. Assalamu alaikum

    I agree with you completely that music takes us away from remembering Allah. Even if one is not listening, it is actually being replayed again and again in your mind…and doesn’t that take us away from doing Dhikr of Allah which is what we should and which will make us earn so much reward?!

    The very sad thing is that even those who know this and decide not to listen, the society as a whole is not like that…
    Its difficult to ask a friend to close the deck in a huge party, you can’t ask again and again to close the music to your siblings or family while going in a car, etc etc… what exactly should one do in such situations? If we try talking not everyone will agree and there will be arguments definitly. I would really appreciate if you give some comments.

    Jazak Allah

    • Walaykum Salam,

      Deciding to quit music is easy Inshallah and stopping your self from listening to Music is also easy. You can get rid of your cds and mp3s, but the problem arises when the people around you listen to music and that too in a loud volume. So what to do in such a situation.

      1. If your brother or your sis or anyone else in house is listening to music. Tell them politely that its haram, you don’t listen to it so they should turn it off.. If they dont listen.. which is mostly the case then leave that room if you can. If you cant then do not enjoy the music and instead start doing tawbah istagfar silently and make dua for their hadayat.

      If you are in a car, you are stuck! so do tawbah and istaghfar silently . Do not start enjoying the music thinking its a good chance to do so! Shaytan will tempt you ..im telling you he will!! do not give in .. just keep doing tawbah. Asyaaghfirullaha rabbi min kulli zumbin wa atobo alayah. and dont forget to make dua for steadfastness on deen..

      rabbana la tazigh qulubana ba’da iz hadaitana wa hablana milladunka rehma innaka intal wahab.

      Keep asking Allah for help and He will help. Inshallah . You have to be determined!

    • Walaikum Assalam,
      It is indeed a test to be surrounded with the things that you are trying so hard to avoid. But this world functions that way and it is the harsh undesirable reality of this world. But looking at this situation through a different lens, I put it this way: Why not use your limitations to turn to Allah? Why not make this as an opportunity to connect solely with your Rabbul Aalameen. I do understand sister/brother that this is really hard and I do acknowledge that fact. But try to make an effort. If you can, try getting away from the party for your mental peace. If the party is at your own home, then ask Allah to help you through this, because withdrawing yourself from the party and locking yourself in a room might or might not be the right thing and it is very dependent on the situation but if you can do that then Alhamdulillah 🙂 if not then seek Allah’s assistance through constant zikr. Keep your tongue flowing with His 99 names.

      May Allah help us with righteous acts.
      Ameen

      Assalamu Alaikum Wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu

  4. Hi Javeria, went through your blog and found it quite interesting and helpful. I needed some advise from y you. What do you do if you crave to be a good muslim yet you are not..when life seems in distress and you feel too weak or feel loss of hope to ask god for something..what do u do when u feel u r bad and that you’re not able to change urself?

    • Well you didn’t tell me, i really need to know how you do this. I need to know how to keep faith that things will turn out good even though life doesn’t end up where u dreamt it would.. how do u do that?

      • Sister, may I suggest!

        Infact we get distressed by seeing the non-believers living a more comfortable life than the believers, which makes us feel bad.

        if something good happens, we should praise and thank Allah, whereas if something bad happens, we should take it as a test from Allah; like in an exam hall we spent very less time and we don’t look for comforts during the exam,
        so we should take the tough time to be a small portion of our overall life, the bigger portion being after death/transfer to hereafter.
        Naturally, we can sacrifice our small portion over an infinite life.

        Moreover, we need to remind each other about the worth of this life in material terms as well.

        Quran says that the disbelievers will want to pay their worldly wealth to rid themselves of their punishment but Allah would not accept even if they present two earths filled with gold(although its impossible).

        A hadith narrates that the Prophet PBUH was passing by a dead offspring of a goat and said that the worth of this world in Allah’s eyes is even less than the worth of this dead animal in the eyes of its owner.

        Another hadith tells us that if whatever is in this world was worth equal to a mosquito’s wing, Allah would not have given even a drop of water to the infidels.

        In last verses of Surah Al-Imran Allah says, Don’t get dis-illussioned by seeing the dis-believers roaming freely in the countries, its a limited benefit, the their destiny is Jahannum, a tough destination.

        May Allah guide us all to understand & practice the Wisdom sent upon us by Him. Ameen.

    • That happens. It is part of life. There was a point in my life where I felt that I was my best Muslim self and then I had to start from zero again. You have to be willing to trust Allah that He will help you through it and make a sincere effort to achieve His closness. Before seeking out help from anyone, make sure to turn to Allah azza wa ajal FIRST, because trust me sister InshAllah that will be the only resort that will provide you the comfort and steadfastness you need. I can say this from experience. When I married, I tried so hard to get close to Allah as I didn’t feel my ex husband fulfilled his Islamic responsibilities and then after three years of “half abandonment: and “half there” marriage, I seeked Allah’s help and called for a khula. After my khula I sank into a deep problem of regaining my faith. But trust Allah sister, HE is ALWAYS there, ALWAYS. Just make that effort to take that one teeny tiny step and InshAllah you will see your new self. Life doesn’t come with guarantee and a lot of times, you will see fluctuations happening in your faith where at one point you want to give up and just be done with this world but this life is an amanah from our Rabb and it will only be easy to maneuver it if we simply follow the syllabus provided by the Ar-Rahman, Ar-Raheem.

      May Allah make us among His beloved slaves.

      Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu.

  5. Assalamu Alikum, Jazak/Jazaki’Allahu khairn for sharing ur story and for sharing the reciting of the Quran I like Mashari Al-Afasi, Saad Al-Ghamdi and My favourite shaikh is Mahir Al-Ma’aqali u better listen to him very nice masha’Allah. I have a smilier story like urs with music and I want to share it too if u dont mind.
    I used to listen to all the kind of music ( pop, R&B ….ect ) but then once I watched a video about converted dutch women and it impress me so so much ( u can watch it here http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2l5m2_hollondaise-se-convertie-a-lislam_events ), I said what is the different between her and me ? she just converted from a year ago and I was bron as Muslim !!! I should pracitice more then I stoped listening to music step by step first I said I’ll just listen to muslim brans ( like Outlandish …ect ) then after while I quit listening to this too and now Im just listening to Islamic nasheeds and the most is Quran alhamdu’llah, cuz of Allah grace. I have link show the ruling of Music in Islam and I wanna share it ( http://islamqa.com/en/ref/43736 ).
    thats all, sorry for taking much from ur time. Jazakum’Allahu khairn and May Allah guide us all to the right path, Ameen.
    ASsalamu Alikum W rahamtu’llah
    thats all and Im sorry if I take much from u time

  6. You seem to have been addicted to music at one time! I play music rarely though mostly when tidying up my room, don’t have a large collection. I find this ok.

    Had a walkman when I was 16 the habit died off in a few years, gave away my cassettes, didn’t read much into the lyrics of any song.

    Playing a Quran CD in the morning in your homes or in the car is beautiful.

    People who go deep into religion develop a negative bias towards others, maybe it’s natural, they focus on narrow things. Life isn’t black or white, right or wrong, there are shades of grey in between.

    Sharing my 2 cents, no flaming please.

    • Walaikum Assalam,
      It is indeed a test to be surrounded with the things that you are trying so hard to avoid. But this world functions that way and it is the harsh undesirable reality of this world. But looking at this situation through a different lens, I put it this way: Why not use your limitations to turn to Allah? Why not make this as an opportunity to connect solely with your Rabbul Aalameen. I do understand sister/brother that this is really hard and I do acknowledge that fact. But try to make an effort. If you can, try getting away from the party for your mental peace. If the party is at your own home, then ask Allah to help you through this, because withdrawing yourself from the party and locking yourself in a room might or might not be the right thing and it is very dependent on the situation but if you can do that then Alhamdulillah 🙂 if not then seek Allah’s assistance through constant zikr. Keep your tongue flowing with His 99 names.

      May Allah help us with righteous acts.
      Ameen

      Assalamu Alaikum Wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu

    • Assalamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu.

      There is this tendency of “Preach to Reach” but we should always keep reminding ourselves as well of being righteous slaves. There was a point in my life when I used to post Islamic sayings on my fb page but then one thing hit me: How much of these Islamic sayings do I practice? I reformed my thinking and got into practice of developing my inner character as a Muslim. I do share but with the intention of seeking guidance and viewpoints from the people who want to better themselves to please their Rabb.
      Indeed Allah is the most knowledgeable of our intentions. We can never figure out the greys of this world and constant repentance from the Lord of the World is a way for me to come into terms of peace with this unknown grey area.

      May Allah shower His mercy on us.

      Assalamu Alaikum Wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu

  7. Assalamoallikum,
    I m preety much impressed by ur story,I am searching 4 answers 4 abt a time now,I visited several sites in which some Ulma says Muzic is allowed if kept in check,But I wondered how can v check weather music contains `shirk` or not?then I read dat Al-Bhukari`s hadith n I got scared dat R V muslims?R v following Islam properly like Prophet Muhammad(s.a.w) defined? I went thru ur story n I felt so peace dat quran is d music I needed!! I listened to the recitations u posted they were great.
    In the end I would like to thank u for giving such a good advice n changing my thoughts about `it`s not possible to quit music` I hav quit music n I have got Complete holy quran recitation in my cellphone!
    May Allah forgive all of us Ameen

    all the best,
    Usama Mazhar

  8. Mashallah. I don’t believe it. It is my story. And I m passing through second phase when I ‘ve started to listen music again. But ur advice to listen recites is amazing. May Allah help me to leave the music.

  9. I like the way you described this all, MASHALLAH this is kind of sadqa jaria from you and all the good things you deliver to outside world. In fact I am in IT manager and one of our staff asked me to allow song on PCs as it is hard from that person to work without music. I wanted to give that person some thing valuable that is something like tips to quit music.

    Alhamdolillah I landed to your page via google. and I gave the url to that person, nice work keep it up. This is what every muslim webmaster need to day in this ERA.

    May Allah SWT help you in all right acts.

  10. I came across a hadith in Sahih Al Bukhari in which our Prophet Muhammad (s) said : “From among my followers there will be some people who will consider illegal sexual intercourse, the wearing of silk, the drinking of alcoholic drinks and the use of musical instruments, as lawful.(Sahih Al Bukhari)

    Please state the Baab and Hadees no.

  11. replay to Javaid,
    AssalamuAlikum brother, here is the hadith
    Sahih Bukhari Hadeeth. Vol.7 Book:69. Drinks. No.494.
    Volume 7, Book 69, Number 494v:
    Narrated Abu ‘Amir or Abu Malik Al-Ash’ari:
    “that he heard the Prophet saying, “From among my followers there will be some people who will consider illegal sexual intercourse, the wearing of silk, the drinking of alcoholic drinks and the use of musical instruments, as lawful. And there will be some people who will stay near the side of a mountain and in the evening their shepherd will come to them with their sheep and ask them for something, but they will say to him, ‘Return to us tomorrow.’ Allah will destroy them during the night and will let the mountain fall on them, and He will transform the rest of them into monkeys and pigs and they will remain so till the Day of Resurrection.”

  12. Assalamu’Alaikum:

    Jazak’Allah Khairin Sister Javeria. This was honestly written and brought out the struggle many of us face in the giving up of music. May Allah (SWT) further strengthen your iman and keep you away from the haraam.

    -Aly
    Chief Blogger, From The Pulpit
    Associate Writer, MuslimMatters.org

  13. JazakAllah for this sister. This was a much needed post. It is sometimes difficult to follow such notions especially when you are immersed in a society prone to listening to music, but then I just tell myself that Allah will ease it for the believers. Everyone is looking out for an escape and maybe music is for some which turns into an unhealthy addiction. Establishing your relationship with Allah SWT is the best form of addiction and remembrance of Allah is the actual ghiza of the soul.

    May Allah forgive me and all of us for erring and keep us steadfast.
    Ameen

    Assalamu Alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu.

Leave a Reply

