Little Astronomers

Last night I woke at around 1:30 to attend to Aaminah and then I realized that the laundry was still on the clothes line on the roof!  In Islamabad the weather can turn around in seconds and afierce windstorms and rain has surprised us many many times, so i ran up to the roof to get the clothes and I was awestruck by the beautiful dark night sky and the stars shining brightly. I love the winter sky because its usually full of many things to explore and see. I saw a very bright star and realized it was a planet. I have been soo out of touch of the sky charts that I didn’t know which one it was.. probably Venus or Saturn. I suddenly had the urge to take out my scope, but realized that it was still packed. I had not even unpacked it after our move to Islamabad and I really missed the amazing time I had with it. I decided to unpack it the next morning.

So today I set up the scope and we watched the moon right before sunset. This was the first time Aaminah was able to actually see through the eye piece!  She said.. its a ball and then she said.. yeh moon jaisa lag raha hai (This looks like the moon)! Surprising she also said I want to see Mars! I was quite astonished as I had not mentioned anything about Mars!

She still has difficulty keeping one eye closed and I had to cover one of her eye with my hand so she could peek into the eye piece! I think it would be too difficult for her to spot the little planets in the eye piece. Little Huz was also very keen on looking through the scope, though he couldn’t figure out what in the world was going on!  He kept trying to fidget with the scope…err which I didn’t like much. Can’t wait for my little astronomers to grow up so we can have load of fun star gazing and looking at the beautiful night sky, the most amazing creation of Allah Subhana Watala!

Related Posts:

sKy WaTchER

First Light

Lord of the rings – Saturn

Jumpin Jupiter

3 thoughts on “Little Astronomers

Leave a Reply

